Northern Star

By Lifferz

Social distancing

Today I made use of my allowed time out of the house to exercise and walked 4.6 miles. It’s been a sunny warm day and I made it up the very steep hill to the Tesco express. All the older people I met on the way smiled or said hello and we worked out the social distancing thing well, usually by walking on the other side of the road to each other. Some of the people I came across in their 30s were a lot less bothered and seemed quite happy to stand in touching distance of strangers. The supermarket was pretty well stocked and I got some fish and much needed bread as well as a local paper which I wiped down with an anti-bac wipe when I got home.

The Tesco now has a masked Marshall in the door and they only let you buy 2 of any item which feels very reasonable. They are only letting 2 or 3 people in the shop at any one time. Outside you have to stand on the crosses so you don’t get too close to others. I quite liked this idea as it’s very visual. It was heartening to see that 2 blokes at the front of the queue insisted an NHS worker, who had just come off shift, go straight to the front of the queue. What was less heartening was a big tent/ gazebo that had been erected in the GP surgery car park next door. It has Covid-19 written on it. I can only assume that it’s a place suspected sufferers, who have ignored advice and gone to the doctors, are instructed to stand or lie whilst they wait for something to happen.

I think I may need to start making my own bread

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.