Expedition

With things the way they are I don't get out much.  However .... there was a phone call from one of our iconic nurseries to say they had a Chinotto for me.  What is a Chinotto I hear you ask.  It's a Citrus myrtifolia, very similar to a cumquat, with myrtle like foliage (hence the name).  I saw one at a friend's place a couple of months back, and it really took my fancy.  The Italians make their famous Chinotto drink using the fruits, but apparently it makes awesome marmalade as well.

So, taking as many precautions as I could, like paying ahead of time over the phone, and making sure they left my little tree where I could easily find it, I ventured out to collect my purchase.

I did enjoy myself so much.  It's a lovely 40 minute drive - although the landscape is very dry right now.  It was so nice to get out and about - and I can look forward to planting the tree, maybe tomorrow.

You know, one of the many lovely things about our climate is that you can grow Citrus.  Where would I be without my mandarin, my back yard lemon and my lime trees.  Now I can add the Chinotto to the list (oh, and a seedless navel as well.  No point in driving all that way for just one tree, is there?).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.