Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Blackthorn

The forecast suggested that the best of Saturday's weather would be before 11am, so I was up and out before ten for a walk along the Canal.

I was greeted by a bright blue sky and a sun that darted in and out from behind the clouds, a big change from Friday's overcast and grey day. The only downside was that quite a few other people had had the same idea and I shared my towpath with quite a few fluorescent-jacketed cyclists, sundry dog-walkers, energetic joggers and such like.

One grey-haired, pony-tailed gentleman travelling in my direction at a slightly faster speed than me combined the best (or worst?) of all these worlds, wearing a fluorescent jacket, with a dog on a lead, and jogging along (albeit none too quickly)... and coughing with every two or three steps. His jog morphed into a walk, with a few more coughs and throat-clearing along the way, before he resumed his previous gait.

It seemed wise to step off the path into the bushes as he approached - thankfully he was heard before he was seen - and give him time to proceed well on his way before I continued mine. It was during this off-path sojourn that I took some photos of the flowers on the blackthorn bushes. Carpe diem, or something like that!

Stopped off at Haggs Co-op on my way home. Still no fresh veg, not a lot of fruit, but plenty of milk and bread. That's settled then - it's bread and butter pudding for my tea! (In truth, I do have other food in the fridge.)

A Zoom call with friends in the afternoon, and some other bits and pieces done.

British Summer Time starts tomorrow. Lighter nights to enjoy from the comfort of my own home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.