Cumbrialass

By Cumbrialass

Walk a mile in my shoes.

Well this may not look silly but I certainly felt silly as we walked home and the loose sole began making a clapping noise.. Walking to my own applause. As the sole got loser, the clapping got louder and I ended up having a giggle. 

It was cooler today, so we decide to have a  longer walk ( without over heating ) where we'd normally drive to Abbey House and walk from there we walked all the way from home.
 It was quite a pleasant walk as the roads weren't very busy and all the cherry trees and forsythia are in bloom . The main road is lined with daffodils and I wished I'd got more than my phone camera but it had started to spit as we set off so we expected it to rain and I didnt want my camera to get wet ( but in the end it didnt rain)

The hotel is eerily quiet. The lawns have all been mowed and the flower beds are neat and tidy . Whether it was chance that they were done just before closure or done because closure was imminent I dont know. 

As we walked past the abbey ruins, a police van passed us. They stopped at the carpark as there were 2 cars there. I presume they were waiting to have a word with whoever had parked to walk . A shame they didnt notice the Audi zooming past us at speed with 4 youths.. They zoomed back shortly after but my phone was in my pocket and I was annoyed I couldnt take a photo in time or catch their reg number!  I hope they got stopped later.

The rest of our walk was pleasant and relaxing till I heard the sound of my boot clapping!  I only just made it home without it coming off. I found a rubber band and wrapped in round my boot to help hold the sole in place. 

These are well loved and extremely comfortable boots , which I have had since the year dot. They were made by Bally so were probably quite expensive.. A shame the shoe repair shops are closed.

As always I hope everyone is well. Xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.