pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Tonic

My youngest children are back with me for a couple of days (the eldest remains in exile in Darkest Ulverston, I fear she is lost to me forever, but hey-ho, I’ve got two others!) 

They are a tonic. A very heavy, tiring tonic, but a tonic none the less. We got our exercise in and had a nice wander with m’boy telling us a couple of jokes on the way round including one of his own creation:-

Q: How do candlemakers get home?
A: By waxi!

I don’t think that’s too bad for a seven year-old and I’m sure that those who know me will undoubtedly say that it’s better than most of mine.

I dragged the walk out and an extended game of tig (it was “it” in my days, kids) for as long as I could as it was just so nice to be outside, but eventually they wanted to get home for some lunch and we spent the remainder of the day making clay stuff, drawing, FaceTiming, watching Incredibles 2, getting over a disappointing Ultimate Toad in the Hole and then pushing the table back and dancing like loonies around the dining room.

All things being equal, I’m calling today a solid win!

Stay healthy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.