Paradise postponed: Day 14 of self-isolation

Well this is, to put it mildly, a pain in the arse.
 
Started feeling cold a couple of days ago but put it down to just basically being in the basement and not having seen the light of day for a couple of weeks. However, I have now developed a slight cough with a tickly throat. Now, not being a doctor – and despite being the world’s second biggest hypochondriac – I am not going to go self-diagnose, especially as the list of symptoms so far is limited to having a cough. I am, however, extending my stay in the basement and going to make sure that it is nothing more than a bit of a cold before emerging once more into the bosom of the family home. We’ll see what tomorrow brings. But even if I am feeling fine, I’ll give it a couple more days to make completely sure. I can cope with being sick – I can’t cope with the thought of making my family sick. If I am sick, I know who I am blaming!
 
So today was a bit of a muddle, I am afraid. I started trying to write but couldn’t settle; couldn’t settle even to reading. So ended up having a nap mid-afternoon, which I normally hate because I can’t ever do it properly and usually wake up feeling worse than when I lay down, and for once it helped. Felt a little better, read half a chapter of Lord of the Rings to Ottawacker Jr., had some dinner, and am now heading back to bed with a honey & lemon hot toddy and plenty of optimism.
 
And it’s just now that I realize I haven’t taken a photo for the day… so forgive the trawl through the archives for something relevant. It’s from Atocha station, at the very start of this mad adventure.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.