Wildflowers from the garden

Cold and windy yesterday, so very few insects in the garden to photograph. Instead I gathered a selection of flowers that are either wild or naturalised in our garden and photographed them on a lightpad. I have to admit that some of them, such as Green Alkanet and the garden form of Yellow Archangel are invasive thugs, and I wouldn't suggest planting them in a small garden, even though they're excellent for pollinators such as bumblebees. Primroses, Violets and Cowslips are much better behaved, and can be tucked into any lawn or flowerbed.

For anyone keen to know what the flowers are - clockwise from top left: Green Alkanet, Garden Yellow Archangel, hybrid between Primrose and Cowslip, Primrose, Cowslip, Wood Forget-me-not, cultivar of Wood Spurge, Cow Parsley, White Deadnettle, Lesser Celandine, Early Dog-violet, Dandelion and Greater Periwinkle.

For the first day since the lockdown I didn't get out for my exercise allocation - but instead did a few things round the house - tidying the fridge, helping Alex make some powerful chilli and mango sauce, tending the garden and trying to identify more dandelions. In the evening we watched 'Okja' - our second film this week. Maybe this enforced break will allow us to catch up with some of the culture Pete and I have missed over the past few frenetic years.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.