Focal Length Fun

We have a Camera Club practical challenge which we were set to do instead of our usual meeting - I was a bit late doing this.  I was reading an article in a recent Amateur Photography magazine about Aperture.  Fairly early on in the article 'focal length' of lenses was mentioned and, I am ashamed to say, I did not fully understand what that meant.  So a couple of youtube videos later and 'light bulb moment'. I understood. So I set about experimenting with different focal lengths using different lenses to compare results. With the club practical challenge in mind I was using my latest camera, EMi mkiii, for the photography with the EM1 mkii and EM 10 mk ii as models,  The top image is taken at a focal length of 17mm and the bottom with a 70mm focal length.  For each image I filled the frame but where I needed to be was varied according to the focal length.  For the 17mm I was very close but had a wide angle of view - for the 70mm I was a long way away - same size subject but contrasting effects  This is all about not just using the zoom on a lens to compose the shot but treat your zoom lens as a series of prime lenses in one place - you use the focal length that's right for your image placing yourself at the right point.

Zooming with your feet is the right thing to do but can be a problem when there is water in the way!.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.