We'll meet again
Don't know where
Don't know when
But I know we'll meet again some sunny day
Keep smiling through
Just like you always do
'Till the blue skies drive the dark clouds far away

Ross Parker and Hughie Charles


A miserable day weather wise and not much better in other ways either, opening with the sad news on social media of the loss of a neighbour from Akbuk, in his homeland of Norway.  I do not know the cause of his unexpected and untimely passing, but it lowered spirits enormously.  An honest man of integrity, kindness - a well intentioned soul and friendly neighbour who will be missed.  This set the tone for a difficult day as I became increasingly frustrated at my successive failure to manage a music program that I want to use in my online lessons this week to teach some harmony.  So irritated not to be able to find the solution I wanted, and exacerbated by the lack of there being anyone close by who could help. 

All in all an introspective day so, late afternoon, ignoring the rain, I went or a walk where I spotted neighbour friend colleagues doing the same.  (The house in the background is where I live - right at the top!)

The walk, including feeding the campus cats, certainly helped, and I returned home in better spirits, and recognising the need to talk to people spent almost all evening doing just that, online. Deniz in Istanbul (who helped with the music software problem), Graham in Akbuk, and Karen in Canada. Today I am grateful for internet, the bringer of woe, but also helping to heal in yet another day of this lonely life.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.