The garden

I simply had to go to OGH this morning to check on the sprinkler system.  And as I thought, there are two beds that are not getting water.

So I put the manual sprinklers on and did as much as I could with the watering can - we are desperate for rain.  We've only had a miserable 8 mm across the month, and we've lost a few plants.

Anyway, when I got home there was a very welcome email awaiting me, saying that we had permission to go into the garden individually, and no more than 2 people.  That complies with the latest guidelines announced last night by our Prime Minister.

I would have thought that the mental health of our volunteers was as important as their physical health.  We're not stupid and of course we'll comply with social distancing and staying at home.  But it's also important for us to get out into the fresh air and get a bit of exercise. 

The volunteers have invested so much time and effort into this garden, I know they will be relieved to hear this latest news. 

Yesterday's blanket ban seemed draconian to me.

Paint brush, blood lilies or whatever lilies in extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.