atoll

By atoll

Build A Bridge

I was late packing up work Friday afternoon, and so missed a full blip opportunity as I often seem to do rushing to head off. I had to drive first to Stockport in some late falling snow and approaching dusk to pick up old friend Jules from the station. He is away with MrsB and me for a weekend in Anglesey, so a good time is being planned by all. We havn't seen him properly in years, and so plan to put all this to right hereafter.

I write this the morning after the torturously difficult drive down to Anglesey, in first snow, then sleet and finally driving rain. As the temperatures slowly increased as our drive headed south and neared the seaside, so did the 'wetness' factor. It was tipping it down as we arrived.

This Sunday marks Holocaust Memorial Day and as we are in Anglesey with limited internet, it made me think about registering before I left home for the Holocaust Memorial Trust's Build a Bridge initiative. This year's theme is meant to remind us as much about the genocide in places like Cambodia, Rwanda and Bosnia as it does the Holocaust. It is also about making us think about our current diverse communities and celebrating these thought the year.

The only picture that I took on Friday then is this early Blip back-up of my Maus graphic novel picked-out as my reading matter for this Sunday. Sorry, not much of an imaginative blip photo in itself, but it is all I can offer without blanking. It is a highly recommended book though, that and the recent commemorative issue, MetaMaus.

Postscript: Maus is a 1991 graphic novel by American cartoonist Art Spiegelman. The story comes from him interviewing his father about his experiences in the Holocaust. His really raw cartoons depict the various human races as different animals, with Jews as mice, Germans as cats and non-Jewish Poles as pigs etc.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.