WILD FLOWER WEEK

I was browsing the challenges on Blip a couple of days ago and came across the newly-instituted Wild Flower Week, set by Miranda1008, “as an antidote to C-19 blues” and thought it would be a good idea to take part in this challenge, particularly as I didn’t really fancy doing the MM challenge this week.  

When we were out for our early morning walk yesterday, I had seen some cowslips in a garden not far from where we live, so off we went in search of them.  I have to confess that our walk was much later this morning - in fact, when I woke at 6 a.m. I turned off the alarm and then snuggied back down to sleep especially as Mr. HCB had already got up and I then had the whole bed to myself - a luxury I just love!

We found the house easily enough and the cowslips were on the edge of the garden, so I was able to lean over and take several shots.  I had always wondered why Cowslips were so called and Mr. Google came up with this answer : “The common name cowslip may derive from the old English for cow dung, probably because the plant was often found growing amongst the manure in cow pastures. An alternative derivation simply refers to slippery or boggy ground; again, a typical habitat for this plant.”  So here are some lovely Cowslips;  I didn’t even have to walk in any cowpats to get the shot and of course, there is always something to be thankful for, like these beautiful little flowers, even in difficult and challenging situations.  

My wonderful model, Mr. HCB, doesn’t even complain now when I say “Let’s do a selfie” so I have included the daily selfie as part of the collage.  

Yesterday morning, we watched our Church Service, then afterwards had a Zoom meeting with lots of people from Church, which was good.  Later I had a chat with a couple of friends and one of my favourite Blip friends, so the day went quite quickly.

I spent the afternoon setting up my new sewing machine - and managed to fill the bobbin, get it into the right place and then do a couple of rows of straight stitching on some old material.  I was really proud of myself as I haven’t really used an electric sewing machine since I was at school and that is a very long time ago.  Sewing is not really my thing, but if we are in this present situation for the long haul, then I will need something else to do other than Blip, housework, cooking and knitting dishcloths!  At the moment, I’m not proficient enough to take orders for skirts, dresses or ball gowns, but would be happy to knit someone a dishcloth if they let me know.  

We are also enjoying watching our Downton Abbey DVDs - that seems to be our late afternoon entertainment with a cup of coffee - we are both surprised at how much we have forgotten - but perhaps that’s our age!  I have to say that Maggie Smith as the Dowager Countess of Grantham, still has us laughing out loud with her one-liners - if you don’t know Downton Abbey, have a look here and be prepared to smile!

“You’re a woman with a brain and reasonable ability;
stop whining and find something to do.”

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.