TINY TUESDAY

We had a lovely lunch-time meeting yesterday, in the garden, with our son, daughter-in-law, and grandson and it was great to see them again after so long.  We were very good though, and stayed physically distanced but we agreed that we had missed the camaraderie and closeness, so it was great to be able to have a laugh and joke with them all.

However, just prior to them arriving, I had quite a stressful time - at about 1 o’clock we had a power cut and only knew because Mr. HCB saw that the clock on the oven was blinking and our outside light had come on.  

When I went over to do something on my new iMac, it had obviously been affected by the power cut and had switched off, and despite trying every combination of passwords that I could think off, I could not get into it.  I remembered that when I set it all up, I had had an issue with the password, and although I had put it into my Password Keeper app, the one I had noted didn’t work.  Fortunately I have paid for Applecare so after the family had gone, I rang and a very pleasant young man talked me through how to get back in.  The one benefit is that if it ever happens again I shall now know what to do!

I had intended getting up early this morning to do some housework, and was quite excited about this - not that housework usually excites me, but I have been rather lax about doing it of late, so thought that I should at least make an effort.  However, my body had other ideas;  I hadn’t slept that well, so when I woke up with a very bad headache, I decided perhaps today wasn’t the best day to be doing it.  I’m pleased to say that after taking a tablet, I snuggied back down in bed and slept for another two hours so now I feel very much better.  It did make me think of those who suffer in this way every day, and my heart goes out to them.

The sun was well up by the time I came downstairs, so I had a wander around the garden and found some pretty little Anemone Blanda flowers, so this is my offering today for Tiny Tuesday.

It’s a beautiful day today - in the sun it feels almost like a summer day, but it is still quite chilly in the shade - so I have been remembering something my Mum always used to say, “Ne’er cast a clout til May is out” - clout being an old English word for clothing - so I think I will stick with my winter woolies for a while longer!  I think Charles Dickens got it right:

“It was one of those March days 
     when the sun shines hot 
          and the wind blows cold: 
when it is summer in the light 
     and winter in the shade.”
Charles Dickens : Great Expectations

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.