MONO MONDAY - PORTRAITS

I was hoping that Mr. HCB would agree to having his portrait taken for today's MM challenge, but decided that I would try out some selfies just in case he wasn’t in the mood to “play ball” today.  After I had taken several shots, he said that he thought I should make my selfie the portrait today and after much argument, I thought, as a good and obedient wife, I should take notice of him - at least for today!

Then, to my delight, Vince turned up with our Waitrose delivery and because all these young men know that I take a photograph, he said I should take one of him because he was leaving soon and I wouldn’t get another chance.  Bearing in mind I didn’t really want the selfie as my portrait, I was happy to oblige - and Vince confirmed that he was smiling from ear to ear underneath his mask, particularly about his new job.  We have seen several of our young men find new and better jobs, but they have all said how much they have enjoyed delivering to us and have even enjoyed having their photograph taken - particularly as I often write to Waitrose to commend them.

So, with Vince’s portrait “in the bag”, we bid him Goodbye and wished him well on his next adventure in life.  He said, bless him, that he would always remember us because we had been so kind to him and he enjoyed delivering to us - but we insisted it was the other way round and we always enjoyed seeing him.

When looking at the shots, I asked Mr. HCB which one should be the main one and he insisted it should be me - eeeek - do I do what he says or risk his ire?  Well, after careful deliberation, and although I am not keen on selfies, I have decided to do what Mr. HCB recommends - and he mentioned it was a back and front, if you look in the mirror - so I have put Vince in as my extra for today.

In other news, after watching a couple of programmes on TV about DNA, we sent off for DNA testing kits from Ancestry.  They came yesterday - whilst we were in Zoom Church - who knew that Royal Mail delivered on Sundays?  We decided to do them last night and what a palaver.  

On the instructions it said you must not eat or drink for 30 minutes before doing the test and that you only needed ¼ teaspoonful of spit saliva to go into the container.  Well, it took both of us about 10 goes to get that much - amazing how dry your mouth goes when you don’t want it to - and then we had to shake it up with some blue stuff to stabilise it!  It will be interesting to see what transpires;  who knows we may be related to royalty!  Watch this space.

“Are we to paint what’s on the face,
     what’s inside the face, 
          or what’s behind it?”
Pablo Picasso

P.S. The sun is shining at the moment, so we are hoping when our family comes later, it will be warm in the garden.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.