THREE CHALLENGES IN ONE SHOT!

We had our first Afternoon Tea of the year in our lovely next door neighbours’ garden yesterday and it was great to meet up with them again and sit down for a proper chat.  Of course, with our back doors being opposite one another, under the carport, we speak most days, but we haven’t sat down to have a real chat for sometime, so it was good to catch up.

All was well until Mike spotted a rat about 10 feet away from us, obviously enjoying the bird seed that had fallen from their bird table.  It soon scuttled away, but I kept a close watch after that to make sure it didn’t get anywhere near me - Lynn says she will buy some rat poison, because we don’t really want an infestation of rats - although perhaps the cat from our neighbours on the other side might be prepared to loan their cat, Nero, to sort things out! 

When we came back through the gate in the fence between our houses, I noticed some beautiful little celandines next to the blue fence and although we had intended to keep the gravelled area clear of plants, I can’t honestly dig this one up, because it isn’t hurting anyone and it looks rather good.

Before I went out to take photographs, I recorded me singing a hymn for our service on Sunday and then went out into the garden to take some shots of the celandine.  Mr. HCB is out pottering in the garden and when I have finished this, I will be going out to do some hoeing in the herbaceous border - I can do housework when the weather turns cold next week!  The postman has just delivered some “living plants” so that will keep Mr. HCB out of mischief for a while.

I am putting this shot in for not one, not even two, but three challenges this week! Wide Wednesday, Wild Wednesday, because it's a wild flower and Wild Flower Week.  I found this lovely poem by William Wordsworth, an English romantic poet, who, as well as liking daffodils, obviously liked celandines.  

TO THE SMALL CELANDINE
"Pansies, Lilies, Kingcups, Daisies,
     Let them live upon their praises;
Long as there's a sun that sets, 
     Primroses will have their glory; 
Long as there are violets, 
     They will have a place in story: 
There's a flower that shall be mine, 
     'Tis the little Celandine.”
William Wordsworth : 1770-1850

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.