Are we there yet?

By CMHW

Nikonista

This in my Nikon Coolpix A which I use a lot for blipping alongside my iPhone. It’s a great little camera with a 24mp DX sensor from a D7000 DSLR, with an f2.8, 18.5mm (28mm equiv) fixed lens. The lack of zoom is a bonus to me rather than a hindrance as it forces me to consider the composition which in turn makes me think about the light and I generally make better pictures as a result.

I also have a Nikon D810 DSLR with an array of superb prime lenses and a couple of quality zooms to boot. This is my income earning / fashion shoot / portrait / wildlife camera and there are no compromises here.

My father owned Nikon’s in the 70’s and circa 1979 when I was 15, he bought me the iconic Nikon F3 back from a business trip to Hong Kong. My love affair with Nikon was confirmed then and there and has never diminished ever since.

The Coolpix A came out around 2011 and was a hefty £900 plus purchase which meant I wasn’t buying one, but a few years later they were being sold for under £350 and I grabbed one. It’s build quality is superb as is the lens, it’s pocketable and I just love using it.

IPhone XS Max 6mm
f2.4 1/68th ISO 125

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.