Knackered

The rat kept me awake on and off till about 3am - it sounded like it was trying to eat it’s way into my bedroom.

I’ve bought about £50 worth of rat poison and bait boxes today - I feel like I have to go overboard in trying to eliminate it. I’m hoping it’s just the one! The council have understandably currently suspended their ‘paid for’ pest control services so if I can’t sort it in the next week I’ll have to hope a private firm can come out but they will likely tell me to to do things to to the building I could struggle to do on my own and overcharge me for poison. Plus it looks like I’d be paying £250. Not sure I want to be climbing ladders when I’m on my own. Talk about bad timing e we other the lockdown - hey ho.

MrH called and he was stressed about the situation as there is nothing he can do (being in Ireland for the foreseeable future). He’s put cameras around the house (don’t ask, I don’t agree with it) and last night he used the camera in the kitchen to listen to the rat squeaking and scrambling around as it tried to get into the kitchen! I think it’s made the problem seem very real and worrying for him. We had a bit of an argument but I pointed out it wasn’t helpful to start raising voices when there was only so much I could do/ I already felt stressed. He wants me to go in the loft and start climbing around the chimney breast to see if I can locate a possible nest do I can throw poison in it! He’s assured me I won’t get attacked but the rats will just walk through me!

Plus points of the day were:

I saw the Space Station go over my house
I had my first ever video call with my Mum who is self-isolating- it was quite fun (my best mate from Uni video called my yesterday and gave me the inspiration)
My best friend called me and made me calm and chill a bit
I enjoyed a big Pizza Express pizza (felt very treaty)
I decided to mess around on a musical instrument

Last day of annual leave tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.