Northern Star

By Lifferz

Long road ahead

The weather was nice again and so I walked up the hill behind my house (hard work) and went to one of the local stores. Got some bread and salad and treated myself to a banana milkshake.

Last night the rat got into the kitchen. I heard it climbing inside a wall I’ve never heard it in before and then the next thing I knew it was thrashing around making a huge din. I was really frightened to go in the kitchen. I was worried if I opened the door it may come into the rest of the house! In the morning I found half a loaf of bread I’d wrapped up but left on the counter had gone. 2 packets of biscuits had been nibbled but it had failed to get the packs out of the kitchen. I was amazed it got the lid off the jar they were in but it was just a push down lid rather than a screw top. Frustratingly it’s getting in from behind some cupboards that I can’t move as they’ve been fitted by MrH and he’s not back for another 7 weeks. I can’t even see the hole they must be coming in from.

I’ve disinfected then kitchen and moved any packets of dry foods into the porch where I have some metal cabinets. I’m hopeful the poison and bait stations will arrive on Thursday I’m feeling desperate! I’m very jumpy about it all.

Glad I got out for a walk to exercise and clear my head.

I’m working from home tomorrow as my annual leave has finished

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.