Keep Calm

I had an unsettled nights sleep thanks to my visitor and felt really tired this morning. On the plus side I spoke to the local pest control officer for the council and he said everything I have done so far is correct.

MrH has ordered some foam sealer (temporary measure) I think he wants me to go into the cellar and use it to seal any holes I can see. There is no lighting in there- it’s a crawl space under the house) and the floor is a kind of hard damp soil- this is turning into a very stressful situation for me. On the plus side I did a bit of mortaring of gaps around the fireplace today but then found more huge openings which I can’t block. One step forward, one back. MrH sent me some text messages telling me I really needed to go in the loft, assess the situation and put more poison down. The idea terrifies me, I’m not used to feeling unsafe and frightened like this. I’m hopeful the bait stations will arrive tomorrow. . .

On a plus I got back into the swing of things at work and just about managed to get through all my emails which felt like an achievement. It’s so odd going back after a long break and trying to get my head around this ‘new normal’. I’m getting an official letter in the post apparently that says I’m a ‘key worker’ and I’m told to carry it with me (plus my photo ID) at all times when I’m working.

I managed a short 40 minute walk at dusk - partly up a hill, just to blow the cobwebs away, exercise my legs and have some time away from the house.

The blip is of my lovely tarot deck which has some very calm and muted colours. I pulled the 6 of arrows (6 of swords traditionally) which is the well known travel card- ha that’s ironic. I’m not sure I’ll be travelling anytime soon but the card also means a time of recovery, escape, respite and getting away. A hopeful journey! The deck manual also suggests it’s the card of ‘Knowing when to flee’ - I have certainly felt like fleeing recently. Fingers crossed tomorrow will bring hope and help.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.