Fun in the Fens

By Jimbofin

Bayer

I've been staying in an airport hotel - or rather a hotel near the airport on the surrounding industrial estate. My room has a superb full width window, but sadly this is the view. Trust me it is much enhanced by the thick net curtains.

Today was very successful, with yesterday's long hours really paying off.

We even finished slightly early which was a relief because I didn't have much time to play with to get my flight home.

Except it was cancelled.

I spent four hours in an executive lounge (Priority Pass is really useful when you fly a lot but rarely often enough with the same carrier to climb the tiers) until it shut. When we eventually landed the e-passport gates at BHX were closed and we arrived at the same time as two other flights.

The day was rounded off by the horrible experience of trying to get a taxi at Coventry station at midnight on a Friday. When I did get one I got fleeced by the driver who refused to do the trip as a metered one and charged me £4 pounds more than the metered fare would have been

Then I got home to find out my accountant has calculated a owe a bucket load more tax...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.