Still Life

In case you missed Mr S’s succinct summary yesterday of how life is at the moment, here it is:

I have nothing to do and no time to do it.

That so perfectly sums up my inability to focus on anything, coupled with the fact that the days pass so quickly there isn’t even time to watch a movie after dinner. I’m going to see if I can remedy that: today I started an online painting class, five half-hour sessions a week. That seems like just the right amount of time to be watching anything. The real trick will be to actually paint on my own, so we’ll see.


Here is an inspiration for the day, from a newsletter written by a local businesswoman. She refers to a downtown store that sells pretty fab chocolate:


The sign in Mutari Chocolate's window, while at first glance plain like all the others, recently gave me new perspective. The sign reminds its readers that while so many closed establishments can appear ominous, they are in fact a beautiful expression of social solidarity. They are silently (but loudly) saying that we care about each other, our most vulnerable, and our doctors and nurses and helpers who are working hard to get us through this. 


I am so moved to think that the owners of this small business can put such a positive spin on the closure while their livelihood is disappearing. They belong on our heroes list too.

Day Fifteen

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.