In Which the Road Turns Into Rivers

I had more use-it-or-lose-it hours of vacation time that had to be utilized before the month's end, so I took Monday off as vacation. I had been dreaming of using some of my spring vacation time for a trip to Assateague, finally, but of course, Assateague is among so many places closed now, and my county is under orders to stay at home.

And so we went to the woods instead. Thoreau said he went to the woods because he wished to live deliberately, and not when it came time to die, to discover that he had not ever really lived. WE went to the woods because we love the woods, and because we needed exercise (still a permitted activity!); but also, to be truthful, because town is a darn germy place, and it is dangerous to go there.

And so my husband went jogging and Tiny Tiger and I explored the area. There were plants on the ground with pretty leaves, and pine cones with neat textures, and moss of all colors and designs. And T. Tiger reenacted Gone with the Wind - he sat on a yellow fence pole and got blown off it, into a bed of wild coltsfoot, one of the first golden flowers of spring. He was embarrassed but unhurt, except for his Tiny Tiger pride. We looked for newts, but did not find any, alas.

When he was done with his jog, my husband and I went for a hike down the gravel road, and conditions were wet, wet, wet indeed! We had heavy rain in our region over the weekend. There was water running down both sides of the path and we were both glad to be wearing Gore-Tex shoes, as the road turned into rivers beneath our feet.

The soundtrack song is this one: Andy Gibb, with Flowing Rivers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.