Life through the lens...

By ValC

A walk down memory lane.

It felt so much warmer today. The cold wind had gone, although there was no sun. Not good light for taking photographs.

I decided to take Mr C on a walk which I used to do every day as a child.
A walk down memory lane for me.
It took us across the " bottom moor" where we walked yesterday, and then up to the " top moor" and eventually to the school where I went as a child 5 - 9 years.
The school is still standing ( see collage) but has been turned into apartments.
It was the walk back home from school that I remember most
See collage.
You can't see it very well in the top photo, but the Emily Moor mast is on the horizon. Certainly wasn't there in my day.
Lovely to see the gorse flowering. I just remember how prickly it was.
However I didn't find any of the tiny flowers of  coltsfoot which I used to pick for mum. Probably too late as they flower early.
In those days I don't remember my mum coming to collect me. Walked, or ran the half a mile home on my own or with friends.
Very different times in more ways than one.

It was delightful to see and hear so many birds.
Including a song thrush, and chiffchaff , and blackbird with a beak full of worms.
Also the bird in my extra. Very high up so not a good photo. It was singing so sweetly. I think it might have been a Tree Pipit. Hope someone on blip can tell me if I am right.

There seemed to be a few more rainbows about, and as usual everybody was keeping their distance with a friendly " Hello".

We have decided it is going to be our morning walk from now on, weather permitting. It just fits in nicely between elevenses and lunch time, and takes about an hour.

It was nice to see our neighbour out in the garden today.
She hasn't been well for over two weeks. Her husband said at first it was flu but speaking to her, through the window, this morning, she thinks it may have been CV. She said she has felt very bad, and it has left her with no sense of smell or taste, which she hopes will come back soon.
Our doctor did prescribe antibiotics which she has been taking.

So take care everyone, and stay safe, and keep smiling.g

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.