madchickenwoman

By Madchickenwoman

...Who's There?

No-one apparently! I did an early morning walk round the village and it was soo quiet and for most of it I didn't see a single soul. It felt like another movie where everyone has vanished! As I walked down the other hill that leads into the village I finally met Brummie Girl! We had a good old natter and discovered both of us had a hankering for spring onions and both had been eeking out the ones we had! As I walked along the road through the village I saw these rainbows in windows either side of the road - so lovely. It's really heartening to see all the initiatives occurring to keep children and adults entertained. I have joined a Facebook group called "Put your bins out in your ballgowns!" People post photos or videos of themselves doing housework in their finery! A good piece of fun and a chance to put your good clothes on rather than slobbing around in your pj's all day! Today was Socksofpraise so I posted a photo of me wearing my long welly boot socks - I tried to make a heart shape and nearly fell over doing so!!
As I went up my hill I bumped into The Bus Driver and we had a little chat - he too had seen no-one till he met me! Vey strange as usually walking through the woods I've been seeing more people than usual - albeit some of them only their backsides as they scramble up off the path to avoid getting too close! 
When I got home I built myself a coldframe from the bricks from the fire breast, a window from the kitchen and some spare long  ceramic wood effect tiles! I then brought some of my plants back from my front garden so I now have a much prettier back yard! It' been a builders dumping and work site for 2 months! I had a late lunch, and discovered it was much later than I thought - guess who forgot the clocks went forward?!!
Come the eve I saw a video post from one of the coop members - she does one daily as she walks her dog, talking about whatever is on her mind. She is very erudite and thoughtful and they are usually  inspirational. Today her message was 
"When life brings different experiences to us, then try experiencing life differently." 


Basically take this time of lockdown to appreciate the beautiful, focus on the good things in ones life rather than becoming overwhelmed with the uncertainty and threats in our current situation. Find new ways of doing and seeing things. I found with my whole kitchen experience that I appreciated each little thing that gradually got put back in the kitchen, the ceiling, the plastered then painted walls, the door, the lights, the tiles etc. The long time it all took allowed me to value each of these things which before I took for granted. We do all take a lot for granted in our lives - this is the opportunity to value what we have and to see the things we previously overlooked in our busy lives. I think as Blippers we do see the beauty others possibly don't - hopefully more people will be able to take this time to do the same. I'm not ignoring the very difficult, worrying and  frightening  time this is, but to survive it and not go under with it all, keeping the positive in mind is essential. The practise of being grateful that has become quite a thing over the years is certainly  being shown now to be a very valuable tool to well being. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.