Theleens

By Theleens

Friday's Child

Before I left for the States last March, I went on a lunchtime walk one Friday with a friend and co-worker. He knows central Edinburgh very well, especially for bracing lunchtime walks. C took me past Dean Village and down alongside the Water of Leith. During our stroll he pointed out a stretch of ground and asked me what I thought it used to be. My guessing was futile for it was, in fact, a stretch of railway track with a platform on either side. The magic of seeing C on a raised platform which was covered with foliage and woodland accessories, was magical in my eyes. I never forgot it. So much so that it inspired a song on the new album called Nowhere Fast.

So, today, C and I went on a lunchtime walk and I asked if he could once more show me the old railway track. The walk past St. Mary's Cathedral and down onto The Walkway was wonderfully familiar and I think I appreciated it more because I was soon leaving. C was very patient with me: as we walked I would say I needed to take a picture, C would continue to walk, I would take my picture and would have to run to catch up with him.

I did a lot of running.

As we approached St. Mary's Cathedral on the return leg, I asked C if we could pop in, even though we were pressed for time. St. Mary's reminds me of all those Gothic style churches I have seen in Europe, a prime example being Notre Dame. It also reminds me of an architecture module I studied when I lived in Toulouse, France. Upon my arrival in that fair city, that would be my home for two years, I made an alphabetical list of all the city's churches to visit when I had time off work. Visiting St. Mary's reminded me of these younger years.

Many photos were taken this lunchtime and an eclectic selection from which to choose for this blip. However, this Celtic Cross is a gentle reminder of roots, of early France years and how Friday walks can bring out the child in us.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.