Homemade workout

Once my work day is finished I like to head out to exercise. I know from experience that I need strength work for core stability, to help make every tasks easier, and to maintain/build bone health.

A good friend has put together some workouts we can do from home. Today I started to figure out what I can use around home.

I used the pegs while planking. Cross one hand to the other pile of pegs, pick one up and drop in the container in the centre, then the other other hand to the other side and so on.

The round thing is my version of a ball. No kids, no ball, so I rolled up a couple of towels and secured them with rubber bands (and a possum tail added for humour).

Lie on your back, ball between feet, arms extended. Raise arms and legs and pass "ball" from feet to hands. Extend out, small of back pressed into the mat, and repeat.

The crowbar and rubbish bags of coffee grounds (destined for the garden), I used as weights

There were other exercises using body weight and shuttle runs. They're a bit tricky with my pavers but I managed.

It was more fun than I thought it would be.

Jasper and his little mate Shadow were hanging around. I went to use my home made ball but it had disappeared. Shadow had grabbed it by the possum tail and taken it. I found him with it in the garden.

I even managed to fit in a spell in the garden once I'd done enough reps to wear me out.

There's plenty you can do to exercise by using what's around home. Next time I'll add in an unopened bag of sheep pellets and I might incorporate the front lawn too.

I used my friend's videos she's put together during lockdow. There will be heaps of others out there.

Work-wise I made good progress on this week's challenge. I've unpacked some technical issues and identified some other things that needed solving.

Overall it's been a good day in my little bubble.

Today's gratitude: For navigating another day of lockdown with a balance of humour, patience, perseverance, and a dose of creativity and improvisation thrown in at the end.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.