Autumnal

There, I've used one if my favourite words, autumnal. It conjures up, cool, warmth, and change.

I've had a good day. My work challenge this week is pretty much solved. I'm proud of what I've achieved. Tomorrow I'll move onto some video editing. That will keep me out of mischief for a few days.

We had our weekly team meeting via zoom. It's good to see everyone and to catch up on bigger picture stuff. I was reminded that as well as uncertainty and challenge, there is opportunity in this situation.

I worked longer days earlier in the week and finished early. After a phone call catch up with a friend, I listened carefully to my internal compass.

Running, a strength work out, or gardening? I chose the latter. I'm a bit sore from yesterday and I've had a replacement Lancewood (pseudopanax) waiting to be planted.

I didn't have too much time on the end of the crowbar. I did have quite a bit of time swinging a heavy mallet. The tree is staked and I had plenty of webbing to secure it.

I spoke kindly to my new tree and hopefully this one will thrive. It's waited for me to plant it as I've said "too hot... too windy... too much else to do....".

Other than planting and more tidying at the front, and hauling stuff around, the real benefit were the conversations I had.

Checking in with older neighbours from a distance and discovering someone else's name, after a year or more of saying hello when he walks his dog and I'm running or walking.

I listened to a young mum express her anxiety she and her husband experience, working from home with a 15 month old baby.

I'm glad that I chose wisely today.

The backlit leaves are the crabapple tree at the front.

Today's gratitude: For being able to say that despite everything, my life is good.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.