From a distance *

My day got off to a good start when the postman rung the bell to let me he'd brought a package, which he had left at door instead of handing to me. He stopped for a chat, asking how we were, which was nice. 

The package was a painting** I'd bought last week as part of #‎artistsupportpledge‬ in which a number of artists offer small pieces of work for sale with the pledge that once they have sold a given amount, they will buy a piece from another artist. One of the many ways in which people have reinvented what they do in these times. It is, of course, a priviledge to be able to support such iniatiatives. 

Today also saw the cancelation of Edinburgh's Festivals - it is hard to imagine the city in August without them. Wimbleton too is cancelled. Life after lock down will also be very different. 

I also felt vindicated as a parent today when A sent T a version of Splendid Isolation she'd been working on retitled Covid Isolation. It was very good. 

Oh ... and I cleaned my gatden tools ! 



* From a Distance sung by Nanci Griffths 

** The artist is Helen Glassford  whose work we really like. She is also making a donation to her lcoal food back for each piece she sells. I also made a contribution to ours. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.