Feather...

...found on our walk yesterday.  (I know, such an original title!) :))
I got up this morning with the best intentions to make a loaf of "no knead bread" that I watched some baker make on youtube last night. It looked really easy, quick & the baker said it tastes good. So I put the flour into a bowl, then had to find some yeast.........hmmmmm..................yeast............I think I remembered buying some awhile ago. I dragged a dining room chair into the kitchen to stand on as I looked through my upper cupboards.........found it!! Pulled the little packet out & it felt hard, so I checked the expiration date.....2013?? What the heck!  But wait! I saw another three packets way in the back......yay!  Pulled them out & they were much better! These only just expired........ in 2015!!  I've read that foods with expiration dates are generally still good for awhile past the date.....but I don't know about 5 years! Opened it up and it smelled rancid, so I had to toss the three packets out. So much for making the bread, at least until I get some up-to-date yeast. Can you tell I don't bake very often? At least, not bread. Poor Tom, because a "Domestic Goddess" I'm not, never have been, nor ever will be!! LOL!  Hope you all have a great day, and stay safe!!  (& no, this is not an April Fool's Joke.....if only!)  :)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.