Milk man

You may wonder at the significance of a bottle of milk on a sideboard. It's a bit of a saga so do feel free to skip the explanation.

Under the present circumstances I decided to have milk delivered by the milkman who is used by two of my neighbours. I arranged for the delivery to begin last Friday. 

On Friday morning I opened my door full of anticipation but there was no milk. I phoned up and apparently my order was "lost in translation" but would be there on Monday.

I eagerly opened my door on Monday morning but there was no milk. I saw a message from the dairy saying that the office was closing because of the crisis so to email. I did this with detailed instructions re my house location.

Last night I asked the people across the road if they could leave a note for the milkman to remind him. Belt and braces - what could possibly go wrong?

This morning I opened the door with confidence. You've guessed it - no milk. I tried phoning and hurray, someone answered. On investigation they had muddled the orders and I wasn't due to get milk until next week and even then the wrong amount. On Friday (the next delivery day) I await developments with interest!

After all this I was down to just a drop of milk but F came  to the rescue. He had an emergency bottle in his freezer which he defrosted for me and I went to collect it this afternoon (we've both been isolating so hope that it's not too much against the lockdown rules). Which is why it's on F's sideboard.

You might notice his restored plane (blipped here) and the Versa vice (blipped here). You might also spot him in the mirror.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.