Hearts For Heroes #2

A Story of two hearts today in appreciation of those working for us in this time of crisis. One item belonged to my mother and the other , to my maternal grandmother. Two women helped greatly, in their time, by the NHS.

The diamond heart was bought by my great uncle Jack for his wife Maimie but she died quite young. When my Nan and Grandda were getting married  Jack gave the pendant to my Nan, saying he never considered any other woman but her good enough, after his wife, to wear Maimie's heart.

The padded heart was my Mum's. It hung on one of her hangers, just her colours.

My Mum spent most of her life working for the NHS. She wasn't in the forefront, saving lives, like those we are seeing interviewed just now. No, she worked in the Supplies Dept. She made sure everyone got the equipment they needed. She had a bookcase of medical catalogues in her office and each one had little tabs sticking out marking pages with notes of exactly which item the surgeons needed. If a ward clerk asked for catheters, she would know exactly which ones to get for that consultant.

If she were there today, she would have been emailing and phoning constantly.  She'd have been putting everything she had into this  work worried about the dreadful shortage of equipment. She often worked longer hours than she was paid for. All over the country, and indeed the world, people are doing that very necessary work for which I give thanks.

I give thanks for every single person leaving the safety of their homes to face this pandemic. And, I also give thanks to all those working from home at this time to keep our nation going.

Lockdown Day 9  Good thing today: Making a food delivery.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.