MumOf4Wildlings

By MumOf4Wildlings

Autism awareness Day

Autism awareness Day .
( I've posted this on my fb too )

I post a lot about autism and how it effects us as a family. And I do this in the hope that it does raise awareness out there in the world of Facebook and my blog etc. But I want it to be autism ACCEPTANCE. I want my son and other children to be accepted for who they are.
Some people just see a split second of what our life can be like. And normally people see the negative side,the hard side of autism. They see the meltdowns in the supermarket or the child freaking out covering their ears. Or the child running round like they've drunk 20 cans of red bull. Yes some days are bloody hard but we get through them.

This chap makes us so proud to be his parents. He's super clever, he has such a kind heart, he's a great big brother.
But I'm going to post my poem again so that people will star to accept and understand.

Adults struggle to understand sometimes
and children even more,
But when you see me holding my ears
And sitting on the floor .

Please don't invade my space while the tears fall from my eye's.
Don't laugh at me or call me name's
And say "that's the boy that cries".

Give me some space, a place to relax,
Heck let me do my thing.
Don't try and wind me up more
When you see that I'm crying.

It's not my fault I'm made this way
My brain works differently from you.
You might like to be chased around
But sometimes that scares me and makes me feel blue.

So please if you see me like this,
Just give me some space and time
I'll soon get back to my usual self
If I'm left to my own device .

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.