Life Savors

By osuzanna

Serendipity

I drove over to the next county this morning to Greenbelt Lake at Buddy Attick Park and had a delightful walk around the lake.  This is the first time that I have been there since last summer.  During the winter the lake was drained and dredged and now it is nearly full of water again, thanks to all the rain we have had.  

When I was about 2/3 of the way around the lake, I met up with another photographer, who I thought I recognized from Facebook, but when he spoke to me with his New Zealand accent, it was confirmed that we do in fact follow each other and participate in mutual photography pages.   He lives nearby so he is very familiar with the lake and shared some interesting information.  We kept a distance of about 10-12 feet like good citizens and finally went on our individual ways.  It was so nice to put a face to some great photographs. 

I spent a fair amount of time as I walked thinking about my journal here on Blipfoto, questioning where my focus has been of late.  When I started in 2014, my journal was all about learning to use my camera and learning photography, proper exposure, composition, etc.  I joined all of the challenges. Now I know how to use it and understand those things, and I haven't quite figured out what to do next.  I don't want this to be a place where I vent and whine (whinge) about current events.  I don't want to dwell on our current misery as we are all going through this and my grumblings won't add anything helpful.  I am coming to grips with the fact that what we are going through is going to last a very long time and I may not be able to change my current restricted lifestyle until there is a vaccine.  So how do I keep this experience positive and produce something meaningful and gratifying in this journal?  Do I want to capture what we are going through factually for later reference or will we all be so "over it" that no one will ever want to look back.  These things I need to figure out. 

Well, I have just babbled on here long enough and haven't come up with anything insightful.  I do hope you enjoy this lovely little Nuthatch and that all of you are keeping your distance and staying safe and healthy.  

Thank goodness for photography. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.