a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Last Day

The sun rises on the last day of my career as a lawyer as the much heralded retirement finally happens later on today.  Inevitably, now that it is upon me it is a bit of an anti-climax, not least because the various celebrations that were to have marked it are not happening.  But still, it will be a relief to loose the responsibilities etc.  The rest of my life beckons :-)

As you can see from this shot of the neighbouring Kelston Roundhill taken at sunrise, there are still a couple of contrails up there in the sky, probably flights from the USA to Heathrow which is about 80 miles east of us.  I still cannot get over how quiet everything is.  In normal times there would be a distant traffic "hum" as the commuting traffic got going, that I never really noticed, but was always there.  Now at 6:45 this morning all you could here was the bird song - a definite improvement! 

I see that by complete coincidence, I took a shot of the same view a year ago today, but in rather different weather conditions.

Today's Classic Album was The Arctic Monkeys ~ AM

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.