Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Self Isolation Day 19

I took Archie a big long walk today, as my wee dander to the Links has been deemed ‘inadequate' by JR. We walked down to the Meadows and around. We met a wee hairy dog, apparently underneath all the hair it was a schnauzer. The owner bemoaned the fact that she can’t get to the dog groomer, but told her that it was easy to do your own clipping, and she went off determined to check out YouTube videos.

We passed a new premises opening up (probably on hold now...) and they took the old sign off to reveal the original one in almost pristine condition. In their doorway were these delightful tiles. (Extras)

JR seems determined to continue with the 'spring cleaning' and started moving the microwave, and clearing out a cupboard. I busied myself topping up the gin bottle optic, but then decided to clear off and go and do my bike, which I had thought I could skip, having had a long walk. So I did quite a big step count today. (9,063 steps)

In the afternoon, we returned Christine's carpet washing hoover (and a very good job it did too). JR carried the hoover, while I took Archie, as they were going on to the Meadows after. An elderly couple were dandering up the middle of road, looking over at us, chuckling.
'You're taking the hoover for a walk?' the chap called out to us.
'Yes, he likes to get out once a day.'

I am SO impressed with the new Nightingale Hospital in London. It will have 4,000 beds and was built in nine days! What a brilliant effort. It was opened remotely today by Prince Charles in Balmoral.

Just watching the daily Covid-19 report. I LOVE watching the sign language person - SO animated! I'm amazed that they have sign language for all these technical terms. 

3,605 total deaths so far, up by 684 today, including two nurses, both mothers of three children. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.