The Gate

If you think of an exercise walk as being about two miles, then I am lucky that there are many different ones available from my doorstep. Indeed one of the reasons for retiring here 25 years ago was the access to many different habitats in a compact area.

Over those years this has given immense pleasure and although I will be 85 in a few weeks time (I hope) it continues to do so.

When I set out on a daily walk I am often not sure which way it is going to go. There are many points where there is a choice of which way to complete the circuit.

Here in today’s blip is one of those points. The gate. One of dozens of gates of course, but one of the choosing points.
This one is at the top of Redhills Wood (NT) and when I go through it I can turn left and up onto the Knott or straight ahead and over the lower slopes of the Knott where in a couple of months there will be hundreds of orchids in bloom.

Whichever way I choose the result is most rewarding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.