Sticky Buds

Our intention was a walk to the Caiystane so passed through the middle of Fairmilehead Park, where three new Horse Chestnut trees have been planted. In taking a photo of an opening bud I noticed that there was another growing directly out of the trunk, which struck me as most unusual. The original appears as an extra, demonstrating the stickiness with its strands of gum.

The light on the stone was too poor for a decent blip and, as I have blipped it before, we continued towards Swanston as far as the By-pass bridge to stand amazed by the lack of traffic.Hereabouts there were more walkers and cars so we returned to the park by Cockmylane and White Lady Walk, which passes the old stable block of Comiston House and its ruined angle tower (later a doocote) and back across the park and home for coffee.
Later I intended making bread, only to find both my dried and (frozen) fresh yeast were decidedly sluggardly and resulting dough somewhat leaden. I shall leave it for the night and see if it can redeem itself. Diane, you know how I feel!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.