Work area

Loo view! Still nice in its own way ... I just liked the shapes.

Long phone conversations with older family members this afternoon. It was my bachelor uncle's birthday, home alone with older technology that doesn't support the add-ons (webcams, apps etc) that others can access. He's well supported in some respects by his church but it's worth remembering that the demographic most affected by The Situation are those with least access to social interfacing through technology. Good, old school chats on the phone are great!

Dad (91+) and I had our usual philosophical/scientific exchange. Some days I can cope, sometimes it's tiring! Today what we both agreed on was that we like to know Why? Give us a rule and that's what we want to know! So we discussed why we had the hygiene dictats and the nature of the pesky c-v wrt helpful measures, its lack of 'aliveness' (so antibacterial stuff is pointless), it's structure (protein in a fat membrane so soap, 65%+ alcohol, and higher temperatures all lead to its disintegration), its ability to stay viable on different surfaces for different lengths of time depending on surface porosity (c-v will denature as it dehydrates so the more porous the better - fabric 3hrs to disintegration through wood, paper, metal and plastic) ... all interesting and mutually helpful.

I won't begin to tell you the lecture I had about the numbers game behind isolation and spreading the thing! Uncle G (another family scientist) did tell me and I've forgotten the actual figures; but the rate of spread difference between 1 infecting 2 others and so forth and 1 infecting 5 was shocking. Stay at home, people (in case you didn't already know!!). Preferably in a cabin on an island with a pipeline to the world's biggest chocolate fountain (that's my personal fantasy).

Together we CAN work it out!

I didn't ever intend posting so much about c-v .... forgive me!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.