Last train

I had such fun tonight at the Napier Alumni's Burns Supper. Last week I spontaneously applied to go to the event - I'd never been to a Burns Supper or an alumni event before. It turned out that this was the case for most of the people I spoke to this evening. I didn't know what to expect, but I definitely thought it would be larger. As it was, there were around thirty people arranged around three tables. It was like a wedding dinner, all of us wearing evening dress and making polite conversation, with each of us knowing just the person with we'd come with.

At least one person in each couple had Napier as a common subject and that usually started the conversation. The people on my table had Economics, Business and Finance degrees. I learned later that the people on the far table had Publishing degrees (I have a Publishing degree). I didn't recognise anyone, but then we all graduated in different years and the business, finance and economic courses were at Sighthill campus rather than Merchiston (the one I attended).

It was pleasantly easy to make conversation and the evening passed quickly. I'd like to have chatted more with the couple I met at the start. We had a great conversation about bicycles and cycling in general. The gentleman cyclist has a degree in Industrial Design from Napier and he's the creator of Cycloc. I'm tempted - we have quite a few bicycles that we could hang on the wall! Fred had a great chat with the lady sitting next to him who was from Gravesend and had lots of tips for walking and exploring in that area.

The Burns Supper had the piper, the haggis, the poetry and addresses... the works. Best of all, the whole event was funded by the Scottish government to promote Scottish events outwith Scotland. So, I give thanks to the Scottish government for the whisky, three-course meal, wine and great conversation. Apart from travel costs, I didn't spend a penny!

The organisers say the event went well, and so it's likely to happen again next year (probably not for free), but with a ceilidh, too. Yippee!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.