BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - 14

Imprisonment - Day fourteen
Saturday 4th April 2020
Cycling Statistics
Cars - 7
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 4
Dog walkers - 1
Walkers - 1
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers - 0
Molehills - 0
Trailer loads of wood - 1

It was the quietest cycle ride so far  with only seven cars.
It was Ros' birthday today and at last I had a good excuse for not getting a present or card as I couldn't get out. Although I did offer to spend the day indoors with her but for some reason she preferred me to stay outside working in the garden.
The wood cutting did not get off to a good start as the chain saw wouldn't start. In the end I sharpened the chain on the McCullock my other chain saw which started easily enough but kept stopping after every other cut. So I gave up and decided to take the Makita apart to see what was wrong. I reluctantly took the new carburettor apart to clean it. Then took the cylinder head off to find that the head bolts were loose. I've experienced this before because if they're loose or the gasket is damaged then there is no suction to get fuel into the cylinder. The gasket was whole but a little brital so I made a new one out of some gasket material then cleaned all the relevant parts and put it all back together. I pulled the starter cord a few times and it fired up. With a bit of tuning it was running as good as new and I managed to cut one trailer load of logs during the afternoon. I know I keep saying the cavernous log store will only take one more trailer load of wood but tomorrow this will definitely be the case and at last I can stop chopping.
As it was Ros' birthday we spoke to our friends Margaret and Roy on WhatsApp followed by Ashley Hayden Astra & Co on Skype We both chatted away with a glass of celebratory Champagne in hand.
In the evening instead of going out we dined in with a Marks & Spencer's dine in meal.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.