BabyDriver

By BabyDriver

Imprisonment - Day thirteen

Imprisonment - Day thirteen
Friday 3rd April 2020
Cycling Statistics
Cars - 21
Motorbikes - 0
Bikes - 0
Dog walkers - 7
Walkers - 4
Runners - 1
Horses - 0
Horse walkers -
Molehills - 0
Trailer loads of wood - 2
I had an exciting start to the day as I found my winter bike had a slow puncture in the front tyre. I thought it was getting a bit spongy yesterday. Fortunately the lanes have dried out so I pumped up the tyres on my summer bike and gave it its first outing this year. On the return leg of the loop section of my ride I was confronted with herd of 50/60 sheep that had escaped. I've met several escaped sheep before and they are impossible to overtake as they keep running away in front of me. Luckily on this occasion I could see a figure in the distance and presumed this was their owner so I cycled towards her pushing the sheep along in front of me. The Shepherdess waving her arms guided them back into the field and thanked me for a job well done I answered it was more luck than judgement and peddled on. I saw lots more dog walkers and walkers than usual was this because I was ten minutes later starting off?
Another day of wood cutting. I managed two trailer loads again. The first load was mainly cherry wood and fortunately this load was dampish which meant that the saw cut through it easily although the blade needed a couple of sharpenings. In the afternoon I move to the Robert Chapman Wood which Robert gave me about six or seven years ago. He had thirty large leylandi trees which he had cut down. It took me twenty five twenty five mile trips with my trailer to pick them up from his house. Anyway it was worth it as I have this stack of logs which seem to be easier to cut. Tomorrow the log store should be full with just one more trailer load.
Late afternoon I decided to plant the cactus seeds Hayden gave me for Christmas to find that they needed soaking in water overnight and then have to be kept in the fridge for three to six weeks in a polythene bag before planting in pots. So I've left them soaking over night.
Ros had a good day too chasing her travel insurance claim and managing to get them to agree it today and pay us the cash. She also got an interest charge refunded for a charge that was made by our useless HSBC Bank which stands for 'Hopeless Service Bugger the Customer'. So at least we can now afford to put food on the table again if only we could go out to buy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.