BJH

By BJH

Duck Race

First of all I would like say a big thank you for all the kind and thoughtful comments on my blip of Loïka from yesterday and I apologise for not replying to each one individually. Looking for the right photo and writing about what had happened was very hard but I felt I had to do it as a tribute to her for the all the joy and friendship she has given me during all our walks together.

Yesterday afternoon I walked Hercule, an almost entirely black male cross breed, but I didn't feel up to following the paths that I'd walked so often with Loïka and we only made it to the small pond where we spent some time before heading back. I've walked Hercule several times before and he very often has a cheeky look in his eyes that usually makes me laugh. This time he was unable to do that but he eventually did manage to make me focus on him more.

Hercule came with me again this afternoon and even though he still did not succeed at making me laugh, he did help me to follow the route that I normally walk again and get past all the places that hold so many memories of Loïka for me.

I'd hoped that Mr Robin would appear at the bench before I went home so I could blip him today but I only saw two Blackbirds landed and ate the food that I'd put down. Those photos were rubbish though. I managed to get a few close ups of trees instead and was about to put the camera away when I spotted this group of ducks running through the snow towards the spot where someone had thrown down some bread. Even though the quality is not as good as the tree shots, it definitely looks a little more exciting so I decided to blip this one.

Tomorrow will be a Sunday spent at home as usual and I expect that quite a large part of it will be spent thinking about Loïka.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.