Our Branch Manager

I’ve spent three days in the same bed.  Couch grass is one thing but ground elder is a complete scunner.  As I type a bogey load of dung has been delivered.  It’s mid-afternoon and CMC and myself have come inside to light the stove.  Buey it’s cowld.

I was reminded today about the time I last got the strap at school.  Me and my pal were caught listening to the radio in the woodwork shop.  ‘But sir’ we pleaded ‘we were listening to the Third Programme’.  Which we were.  When Sir, Mr. Anderson, heard this he added another three strokes each for temerity.  No wonder I’m so sensitive. 

I am about to start my new Peter Hennessy book.  I’ll be reviewing it in November; next year.  The only other non-tenuous link is to remember the following books were once stocked by Borders Bookshop

‘I was Monty Don’s right hand man’ - Monty Don

‘I was Monty’s Double’ – Monty Don

‘Gardening’ - George Barren

‘I put the tit in Titchmarsh’ - Geoffrey Smith

‘How to garden’ - Beth Chatto

‘Who is Beth Chatto?’ – Monty Don

‘Onanism in a Hot Bed’ – Monty Don

‘How to squeeze your Cox’ – Monty Don’s guide to apples

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.