... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Suspicious Shoveler

Better in large ("L").

The light was beautiful when I visited Mount Pond this morning; the sky was blue, and it was that bright, crisp, wintry light that makes the air look crystalline and thin. What a change from the past few visits... There were, alas, no Egyptian geese on the pond, but all the other usual suspects were present and accounted for (shovelers, mallards, greylag geese, coots, moorhens, black-headed gulls, and a single cormorant, since you ask...). There were also 3 blue tits flitting about when I arrived (absolutely adorable little things), and a pair of ring-necked parakeets flew over (squawking as they went).

I liked these shovelers that were resting on the ice that has remained around much of the edge of the pond; this one didn't move as I stood on the nearest pontoon, but kept its eye firmly fixed on me. In the background are a(nother) male and a female shoveler. They are surprisingly colourful!

I went to see Django Unchained at the Clapham Picture House this afternoon; it was absolutely fantastic! I'm very keen on Quentin Tarantino so went with high hopes, but it still blew me away!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.