... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

NHM: Old General Herbarium Skylights

This is a view of the Old General Herbarium ("Ghost Herbarium"): I took this later on in the afternoon when the already dim light had faded quite significantly. This isn't actually that underexposed; it really was very dark in the herbarium as no-one was working in there so the lights were all off. That reminds me, I still haven't worked out how to turn on the corridor lights in the herbarium in which I work (I have asked, but people now think it's so amusing that they change the subject before telling me...), so when I'm the first in it is very dark (this photo shows it with some of the lights on, so less creepy than when none are on...)

I've blipped the Old Gen. Herb. a few times before (1, 2, 3, 4), which explain the term "Ghost Herbarium" if you're interested (long story short, it is "Ghost Herbarium" as in "Ghost Town").

I took quite a few NHM pics today, including an after dark one of the Central Hall when it was all disco illuminated by the coloured spotlights that light up Dippy the Diplodocus when someone pays to sponsor it (it roars, and if you pay more it roars and goes all discosaurus...).

p.s. This photo shows where I was standing when I took this photograph: I was standing in the midline, just beyond the doors that are visible above the top of the balustrade. In that photograph, part of this same view is visible through the glass in the doors and their surround, although brightly lit on that occasion.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.