... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

British Museum: Great Court

Better in large (it is, it is!)

I made the shortest ever visit to the British Museum today; it was semi-pilgrimage, semi-blip-desperation... I've a busy afternoon lined up (so little opportunity for photography) and was slightly early for a lunch plan with a friend, so ducked into the museum en route to meeting her, took 10 photographs, and was on my merry way bearing my blip.

This is, I reckon, my favourite piece of modern architecture in London... When I visit the British Museum, I have quite a lot of trouble leaving this fantastic space; the exhibits are spectacular (I'm told *shrugs*), but I become hypnotised by the spiralling curves in the roof's framework and the bright stonework, and end up wandering around like a zombie with a camera...

"Meet me back here when you've finished", I say.

The British Museum website gives this description:
Designed by Foster and Partners, the Queen Elizabeth II Great Court transformed the Museum's inner courtyard into the largest covered public square in Europe. It is a two-acre space enclosed by a spectacular glass roof with the world-famous Reading Room at its centre.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.