atoll

By atoll

Ruby Ruby Ruby Ruby

Sorry, my title got stuck in my head after listening over breakfast to the Kaiser Chiefs on Radio 2 this Sunday morning.

After that, I was a bit unsure if gardening all day was even allowed,given the current lockdown and limitations. Despite all that, it seemed pretty harmless, so I went for it.

My task today had been put off for many years. Got a 101 of jobs like all of us that I had been avoiding, so what better now with all this time to spare?

So it was the task was set: Clearing some really well-entrenched ivy in the plant bed beneath our old Forsythia hedge. As it happened, it took me all afternoon just to clear 3 square meters.

Lots of ‘finds’ to report though - even if not exactly the saxon hoard quality seen in my i-player re-runs of the brilliant BBC series Detectorists I have become rather besotted with, and have binge watched (again) recently.

Happy to report that my total ‘finds’ were a small ball that Jay had lost about 25 years ago and was still inflated; Second was a ‘lucky’ QEII penny also from the 90’s; and third was what I thought at first was a hard, fossilised jelly bean, but turned out to be a small but really beautiful red glass pebble.

Not quite a hoard ruby, but I promised MrsB I would get it made into a pendant. Its her birthday coming up soon. That girl gets spoilt rotten.

Our love and best wishes to everyone out there in these really difficult times xx.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.