Pinecones...

...heaped in a bowl in the back porch. I went outside to check on my daffodils--I wanted to see if they were all leaves or if they were getting close to blooming-- & my neighbor, two houses down, called out to me to ask how we were doing. We stood outside for almost an hour talking, (we had the neighbors' yard in between us so were well apart) and she said she was glad she'd seen me. Her husband died almost 4 years ago of throat cancer, & while she has children and grandchildren who call her, it's hard when they can't come over and it gets lonesome being by yourself. Later I talked to my daughter & to Mae, who keeps asking if she can come and stay overnight......it kills me to say "not right now, but hopefully soon"!  One of the local news stations reported that overall Wisconsin is holding it's own against the virus. So far we've had enough hospital beds available, but the city of Milwaukee is converting a large building on the Fair grounds into cubicles for housing and treating CV patients in case it's needed. The mayor said they'd rather be prepared and not need the facility then to not have the space available if they do. I don't know how the news came up with these dates, but they predicted the peak in our area will be around April 26th, but are saying the peak for the nation will be more likely around the 15th. So far we've had 2,112 confirmed cases, half of which are in Milwaukee County, but that's far below many states, and 60 deaths. I'm going to keep those prayers going, as we're not out of the woods yet. Stay safe! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.