Clark Tales

By cclark

Lockdown day 14

We are so lucky to live in a city which is also in walking distance of the countryside. Such lovely weather at home today so we went on a walk to our fave spot.

I have also had a WhatsApp call with Nan today. Not just us, but for the first time added in Mum and Auntie. Nan loved it...until it came to hang up. Here's how it went.

Nan: my batteries going I'll need to go.
Us: ok, bye
Nan: ....(pauses screen, doesn't hang up)
Us: press the red button! ( X30)
Me: someone call her landline
Nan: it won't go away (pauses and unpauses screen) there's no red button!
Us: press the red button (Uncle P goes to call the landline)
Nan: still no red button...wait someone's calling me
Us: fits of laughter...we know, it's us
Nan: I can't work it
Us: we'll just end the whole call (all dying of laughter)


I adore my Nan and I am so proud of her for being able to use an iPhone at this time, it's absolutely amazing we did training for her on this last year. However we continue to have the odd hiccup. I so wish we could have recorded this call. Absolutely love her.

This evening Lb made a delicious veggie byriani and she completed the pub quiz which was lined up between, 2 Katy(ies) JJ and I. One round was Daily Mail Headliners. During the quiz we heard of Boris Johnson being moved into the intensive care unit. He's been in since yesterday but it's pretty frightening news.

The only thing that's annoyed me about the situation is the amount of people prefixing tweets or posts on social media with "no matter what political stripe"...are people that tribal now they can't express a wish of someone getting better without making clear they are one colour or another. Humanity needs to take a look at themselves. The only thing I will say is he needs to accept and be very clear the Dominic Raab is in charge now. He's not well and needs to focus on recovery!

What a day...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.