Ronniebofa

By Ronniebofa

Thank goodness for gardens

They say that one’s garden is an extension of one’s home: nothing could be more true at this time of lockdown. I pity those who live in flats or residences without a garden whose only opportunity to get outside is limited to essential shopping and once daily exercise where it is so difficult to comply with social distancing requirements. A tightening of the requirements of the lockdown which precluded exercise outdoor, because of the irresponsible actions of the few would be so unfair on those without gardens.
I am lucky in that I have an allotment that I am permitted to work in and a garden.
I have been working almost full-time in my allotment to ensure that it is prepared and planted in record time this year incase the terms of the lockdown become more stringent and prevent work there.
My neighbour has been making full use of my absence. His household are in “shielded” self isolation. However, like my brother he finds it difficult to sit for a minute at peace and whilst I’m away he is doing projects in my garden having exhausted possibilities in his own. I am the lucky recipient of this amazing archway into my drying green - thanks Sem!! He has now moved to the area behind my bamboos which he has spent hours preparing for the potatoes he has planted: after all staples such as potatoes are going to be scarce and expensive as a result of the pandemic. Not sure what’s next on the agenda!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.